
Why a national ranking is necessary
A halal logo can affect what a family eats, what a school serves, what a manufacturer exports, and whether a business can enter a regulated market. Yet the organizations behind those logos do not all disclose the same information, operate under the same external oversight, or make their responsible personnel and certification rules equally traceable. A consumer or buyer therefore cannot judge two certificates merely by seeing the same word, halal, printed on both.
USDHS created this national series to compare the accountable organizations behind U.S. halal certificates under one fixed methodology. The ranking does not ask whether an organization is popular, large, Muslim by assumption, commercially successful, or accepted by a particular customer. It asks how well the available evidence substantiates identity and control, responsible people, Islamic decision authority, halal-specific audit capability, public certification criteria, certificate controls, complaint handling, and operating capacity. The full method is published separately and applies to every organization in this comparison [1].
How the national census was built
The expanded census identifies 27 active U.S. halal certification bodies or separately accountable U.S. certification programs. Candidate discovery began with the original national set and then reopened through a blind-spot review spanning all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories. The renewed search used state and federal records, New York’s halal-certifier registration system, current accreditation and foreign-recognition directories, institutional and procurement records, recent client certificates, first-party application pages, and broader industry lists [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8].
Seven bodies were added during the renewed census: Halalco Inc.; Global Islamic Research Organization; Ben-issa LLC operating as Ben Issa Halal Meat Solutions; Al Nur Truly Halal Services Inc.; Hijrah Ranch LLC’s halal certification program; American Halal Institute; and United Ulama Council of USA Inc. [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [18] [19] [20]. Their inclusion is not an endorsement. It means the reviewed record established a current, separately accountable U.S. certification program under the same rule used for the complete field.
The exact-entity rule prevents one company, assumed name, parent, affiliate, foreign office, or marketing brand from borrowing another entity’s credential without a documented legal and operating bridge. Inactive bodies, foreign-only bodies, consultancies, membership organizations, directories, laboratories, duplicate brands, and organizations without verified current certificate activity remain outside the ranked denominator. The census does not claim that no unindexed operator exists; it states what the documented search found by the source cutoff and provides a correction path for additions.
- Twenty-seven qualifying certifiers are scored and ranked; seven were added after the renewed fifty-six-jurisdiction search.
- Halal Monitoring Services was already included in the original twenty and remains ranked under the revised methodology.
- Eight candidates remain unresolved because a current separately accountable program, final certificate authority, or recent attributable issuance was not established.
- Affiliates, foreign-only issuers, inactive bodies, consultancies, and non-certifiers are documented separately rather than given speculative scores.
How Model B scores and ranks every body
Model B uses three components: competence assurance up to 90 points, proportional current exact-entity accreditation breadth up to four points, and public accountability up to six points. A current comprehensive independent accreditation of the exact assessed entity establishes the competence determination within verified scope unless affirmative current evidence contradicts a requirement.
Every qualifying current independent exact-entity accreditation authority contributes 0.8000 breadth points against the five-authority national benchmark, capped at four. One qualifying authority therefore earns 0.8000 rather than zero; five earn the full four points. Overlapping standards and requirements are not counted twice, and recognition, expired credentials, or affiliate records do not count. A non-accredited HCB can still earn competence points from verified control and operational evidence, normalized to the same 90-point component.
The unrounded raw score determines rank. The displayed percentage is rounded normally, and the Grade follows the displayed band. If IFANCA, Halal Watch Certification, and American Halal Foundation all have exactly the same unrounded raw score, their disclosed tie-break order is IFANCA first, Halal Watch Certification second, and American Halal Foundation third. That tie-break does not override a real score difference. Confidence remains separate from the score.
- Grade A: 90 to 100, strongly substantiated.
- Grade B: 80 to 89, substantiated.
- Grade C: 70 to 79, partially substantiated.
- Grade D: 60 to 69, material gaps.
- Grade F: below 60, insufficiently substantiated.
How this ranking was verified
Every body’s Model B result was generated from the same 137-requirement evidence record. Independent body-level and cross-body reviews checked entity identity, accreditation status and scope, distinct-authority breadth, contradiction treatment, non-accredited normalization, public-accountability arithmetic, Grades, ranks, privacy, and publication safety.
The release contains 27 unique assessed entities and 27 public assessment routes. No additional completed validated assessment exists outside this set; unresolved candidates remain excluded rather than assigned unsupported scores.
Private identifiers and confidential records remain outside public files. Missing public evidence is described as not established by the reviewed public record, not as proof that an internal control is absent.
The complete national ranking
The table ranks all 27 bodies by the audited four-decimal Model B score and links each body to its complete assessment.
Competence, breadth, and public-accountability components are shown separately so accreditation weight and consumer-visible evidence are not conflated.
National accountability ranking
27 U.S. halal certifiers, ranked by audited Credibility Score
Rank uses the four-decimal methodology 4.1 · Model B Credibility Score. The Grade and evidence-confidence label remain separate.
Accreditation breadth: each qualifying current independent exact-entity accreditation authority earns 0.8000 points. One authority earns 0.8000, two earn 1.6000, three earn 2.4000, four earn 3.2000, and five earn the full 4.0000.
- Certifiers ranked
- 27
- Median raw Credibility Score
- 19.8088
- Comprehensive current exact-entity accreditation
- 8 of 27
- Added after renewed census
- 7
- 1 IFANCA 96% Credibility Score
- 2 American Halal Foundation 96% Credibility Score
- 3 Halal Watch Certification 96% Credibility Score
- 4 Islamic Services of America (ISA) 95% Credibility Score
- 5 Halal Transactions of Omaha 94% Credibility Score
- 6 ISWA Halal Certification Department 94% Credibility Score
- 7 Halalco Inc. 93% Credibility Score
- 8 The Halal Approval LLC 92% Credibility Score
- 9 Halal Food Standards Alliance of America 55% Credibility Score
- 10 IS EG Halal 37% Credibility Score
- 11 Halal Conformity Center 34% Credibility Score
- 12 Etimad Halal 31% Credibility Score
- 13 Majlis Ash-Shura of Metropolitan New York 22% Credibility Score
- 14 RACS USA 20% Credibility Score
- 15 Ben Issa Halal Meat Solutions 18% Credibility Score
- 16 Al Nur Truly Halal Services Inc. (ANT8S) 17% Credibility Score
- 17 Halal Food Council USA 15% Credibility Score
- 18 Islamic Information Center of America 13% Credibility Score
- 19 Halal Monitoring Services 10% Credibility Score
- 20 Circle H International 10% Credibility Score
- 21 U.S. Halal Consultants 8% Credibility Score
- 22 Islamic Halal Food Products, Inc. 8% Credibility Score
- 23 Global Islamic Research Organization 7% Credibility Score
- 24 Hijrah Ranch Halal Certification 5% Credibility Score
- 25 United Ulama Council of USA Inc. 5% Credibility Score
- 26 American Halal Institute 3% Credibility Score
- 27 Shariah Council USA 1% Credibility Score
| Rank | Assessment | Raw Credibility Score | Grade | Confidence | Competence | Accreditation breadth | Public accountability | Accreditation and recognition context |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IFANCA | 96.3593 | 96% · A | High for accreditation and institutional controls; moderate for public criteria disclosure | 90.0000 / 90 | 4.0000 / 4 | 2.3593 / 6 | Current ANAB, EIAC, HAK, PNAC, and BPJPH accreditations verified for the exact U.S. entity; five qualifying authorities establish the national breadth benchmark. |
| 2 | American Halal Foundation | 96.0964 | 96% · A | Moderate | 90.0000 / 90 | 2.4000 / 4 | 3.6964 / 6 | Current GAC HPC 0140, EIAC HBN-CB-097, and BPJPH accreditations verified for the exact U.S. entity; recognition-only approvals are excluded. |
| 3 | Halal Watch Certification | 96.0779 | 96% · A | High | 90.0000 / 90 | 0.8000 / 4 | 5.2779 / 6 | Current exact-entity GAC HPC 0134 accreditation verified; one of five benchmark authorities contributes 0.8000 breadth points. |
| 4 | Islamic Services of America (ISA) | 94.8179 | 95% · A | High for institutional status and accreditation; moderate for undisclosed ownership and file-level personnel evidence | 90.0000 / 90 | 3.2000 / 4 | 1.6179 / 6 | Current GAC HPC 0071, HAK 2025-074, EIAC HBN-CB-091, and BPJPH accreditations verified for the exact U.S. entity. |
| 5 | Halal Transactions of Omaha | 94.4000 | 94% · A | High | 90.0000 / 90 | 0.8000 / 4 | 3.6000 / 6 | Current exact-entity BPJPH accreditation verified. GAC HPC 0017 expired January 25, 2019 and receives no current credit; MUIS remains recognition. |
| 6 | ISWA Halal Certification Department | 94.1179 | 94% · A | Moderate | 90.0000 / 90 | 1.6000 / 4 | 2.5179 / 6 | Current exact-entity GAC HPC 0035 and BPJPH accreditations verified; recognition-only approvals are excluded. |
| 7 | Halalco Inc. | 92.9750 | 93% · A | High | 90.0000 / 90 | 0.8000 / 4 | 2.1750 / 6 | Current exact-entity EIAC HBN-CB-014 accreditation verified; one of five benchmark authorities contributes 0.8000 breadth points. |
| 8 | The Halal Approval LLC | 91.5500 | 92% · A | Moderate | 90.0000 / 90 | 0.8000 / 4 | 0.7500 / 6 | Current exact-entity ENAS NAH 020 accreditation verified through November 24, 2028; recognition-only approvals are excluded. |
| 9 | Halal Food Standards Alliance of America | 54.6799 | 55% · F | Moderate | 49.8971 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 4.7829 / 6 | CICOT recognition; no Tier A accreditation verified |
| 10 | IS EG Halal | 36.9886 | 37% · F | Moderate | 34.4579 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 2.5307 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 11 | Halal Conformity Center | 33.5268 | 34% · F | Moderate | 31.6368 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.8900 / 6 | WHFC observer and MPJA recognition; no Tier A accreditation verified |
| 12 | Etimad Halal | 30.9342 | 31% · F | Moderate | 29.0206 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.9136 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 13 | Majlis Ash-Shura of Metropolitan New York | 22.1711 | 22% · F | High | 20.0647 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 2.1064 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 14 | RACS USA | 19.8088 | 20% · F | High | 18.5638 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.2450 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation verified. GAC HPC 0020 expired May 24, 2019 despite the legacy directory's unexplained ACTIVE label. |
| 15 | Ben Issa Halal Meat Solutions | 17.7527 | 18% · F | Moderate | 16.8077 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.9450 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 16 | Al Nur Truly Halal Services Inc. (ANT8S) | 17.3085 | 17% · F | Moderate | 15.5321 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.7764 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 17 | Halal Food Council USA | 14.8985 | 15% · F | Moderate | 13.0257 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.8729 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 18 | Islamic Information Center of America | 13.3977 | 13% · F | High | 12.4227 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.9750 / 6 | Foreign-authority recognition only; no current Tier A accreditation verified |
| 19 | Halal Monitoring Services | 9.8423 | 10% · F | Moderate | 8.5094 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.3329 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 20 | Circle H International | 9.5287 | 10% · F | Moderate | 8.3629 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.1657 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 21 | U.S. Halal Consultants | 8.2180 | 8% · F | Moderate | 7.2280 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.9900 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 22 | Islamic Halal Food Products, Inc. | 7.6552 | 8% · F | Moderate | 6.7959 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.8593 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 23 | Global Islamic Research Organization | 7.0111 | 7% · F | Moderate | 5.8518 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 1.1593 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 24 | Hijrah Ranch Halal Certification | 5.0598 | 5% · F | Limited | 4.1812 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.8786 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 25 | United Ulama Council of USA Inc. | 4.7718 | 5% · F | Moderate | 4.0068 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.7650 / 6 | No current comprehensive independent exact-entity accreditation was verified; New York establishment registrations are activity attestations, not accreditation |
| 26 | American Halal Institute | 3.1747 | 3% · F | Moderate | 2.5147 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.6600 / 6 | No current exact-entity accreditation with an express requirement mapping was verified |
| 27 | Shariah Council USA | 1.2223 | 1% · F | Moderate | 0.3309 / 90 | 0.0000 / 4 | 0.8914 / 6 | No current Tier A accreditation or authority recognition verified |
Consumer disclosure comparison
This comparison applies USDHS Form 1002-D. “Not publicly disclosed” means the reviewed public record did not establish the position; it does not prove that no internal rule exists.
| Certification body | Standard | Mechanical poultry | Line tasmiyyah | Slaughter person | Stunning | Alive at cut | Pork | Alcohol | Certificate lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IFANCA Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Does not allow | Partially disclosed |
| American Halal Foundation Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Allows | Requires | Requires | Allows | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Publicly disclosed |
| Halal Watch Certification Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Allows | Requires | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Conflicting public statements |
| Islamic Services of America (ISA) Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Allows with conditions | Requires | Requires | Partially disclosed | Requires | Does not allow | Does not allow | Partially disclosed |
| Halal Transactions of Omaha Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| ISWA Halal Certification Department Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Allows | Requires | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Partially disclosed |
| Halalco Inc. Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| The Halal Approval LLC Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| Halal Food Standards Alliance of America Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Publicly disclosed | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Does not allow | Publicly disclosed |
| IS EG Halal Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Allows with conditions | Requires | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Partially disclosed |
| Halal Conformity Center Claim this certification body | Publicly disclosed | Allows with conditions | Requires | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Publicly disclosed |
| Etimad Halal Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Does not allow | Partially disclosed |
| Majlis Ash-Shura of Metropolitan New York Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Does not allow | Publicly disclosed | Requires | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| RACS USA Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Does not allow | Partially disclosed |
| Ben Issa Halal Meat Solutions Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Al Nur Truly Halal Services Inc. (ANT8S) Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Does not allow | Requires | Requires | Does not allow | Requires | Does not allow | Allows with conditions | Not publicly disclosed |
| Halal Food Council USA Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Allows with conditions | Requires | Requires | Allows with conditions | Requires | Does not allow | Does not allow | Not publicly disclosed |
| Islamic Information Center of America Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Halal Monitoring Services Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Does not allow | Publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| Circle H International Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| U.S. Halal Consultants Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Islamic Halal Food Products, Inc. Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Allows with conditions | Requires | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Does not allow | Does not allow | Not publicly disclosed |
| Global Islamic Research Organization Claim this certification body | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Requires | Does not allow | Does not allow | Not publicly disclosed |
| Hijrah Ranch Halal Certification Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| United Ulama Council of USA Inc. Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partially disclosed |
| American Halal Institute Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Shariah Council USA Claim this certification body | Not publicly disclosed | Does not allow | Publicly disclosed | Requires | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
Source cutoff September 15, 2026. Accreditation summaries are exact-entity, date, scope, and requirement bounded. Recognition is not relabeled as accreditation.
What the Model B distribution shows
The national mean is 39.7906 and the median is 19.8088. The distribution is 8 Grade A, 0 Grade B, 0 Grade C, 0 Grade D, and 19 Grade F.
The accreditation-dominant model moves comprehensively accredited exact entities into the 90s unless an affirmative contradiction reduces competence. It does not elevate recognition-only, expired, affiliate, narrow-scope, or unverified credentials.
Lower-ranked bodies can still improve through qualifying direct evidence, current comprehensive exact-entity accreditation, additional qualifying independent authorities, or stronger public accountability.
| Grade | Count | Share of ranked field | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | 8 | 29.6% | Strongly substantiated |
| B | 0 | 0.0% | Substantiated |
| C | 0 | 0.0% | Partially substantiated |
| D | 0 | 0.0% | Material gaps |
| F | 19 | 70.4% | Insufficiently substantiated |
Accreditation is the dominant competence determination
Model B recognizes a current comprehensive independent exact-entity accreditation as an authoritative determination of competence and assigns the 90-point competence component within verified scope. USDHS does not demand duplicate confidential files merely because the underlying accreditation review is not reproduced publicly.
Breadth is now proportional to the complete verified national authority set. Each qualifying authority contributes 0.8000 against the five-authority benchmark, capped at four. Overlapping requirements are never multiplied, affirmative contradictions can reduce competence, and the six public-accountability points remain separate. Recognition, membership, affiliate credentials, expired records, or scope that does not cover the assessed work do not qualify.
What lower scores mean, and what they do not mean
A low Credibility Score is a warning about the evidence available for a defined organization and scope. It may reflect unidentified responsible people, unverified qualifications or appointments, weak public scope rules, no independently verified accreditation, missing certification criteria, unavailable certificate-status controls, limited complaint information, uncertain capacity, or several of those conditions together.
It is not a finding that every certified product is non-halal, that every audit failed, that no internal records or standards exist, or that a person committed fraud or misconduct. Each lower-ranked article states the precise gap and the evidence that could change the score. This distinction allows serious scrutiny without turning uncertainty into accusation.
Unresolved candidates and excluded organizations
Eight candidates remain unresolved rather than ranked: Islamic Society of California; American Halal Authority; Halal Certification Council USA; Global Halal Certificate; Zabiha Halal Slaughter Association of Louisiana; Halal of USA; MUNA Social Services’ halal program; and Council of Peoples Organization’s halal program. In each case, the reviewed record did not yet establish one or more threshold facts such as a current separately accountable U.S. entity or bounded program, final certificate authority, current certification process, or recent attributable third-party issuance.
The expanded appendix also separates duplicate or affiliate programs, foreign-only issuers, inactive bodies, consultancies, and non-certifiers. Apply Halal Certification LLC remains consolidated with or unresolved against ISWA; Halal Board of San Diego identifies itself as an HFSAA chapter; Halal Certification Services USA and Al-Waiz were not established as separate U.S. issuers; The Pure Halal Center, America Zabiha Authority, and the former ISNA U.S. program lacked verified current activity; and organizations whose public role is advocacy, education, consulting, or product verification are not ranked as final certificate authorities.
Unresolved or excluded does not mean nonexistent, illegitimate, fraudulent, or permanently ineligible. It identifies the exact inclusion evidence that was not established by the source cutoff. A current attributable certificate, legal or operating record, final-decision evidence, and defined certification process can change the classification.
- No candidate is scored merely because it advertises halal services or appears in a generic directory.
- Foreign recognition, membership, and market acceptance are not relabeled as accreditation.
- A chapter, affiliate, parent, or similarly branded operation is not counted separately without an accountable entity and decision bridge.
- A newly identified or omitted body may submit qualifying records through the secure evidence and certification-body claim form.
Final verdict on the U.S. halal certification field
Model B identifies 8 strongly substantiated Grade A records, 0 Grade B records, 0 Grade C records, 0 Grade D records, and 19 Grade F records. The strongest results combine comprehensive independent competence assurance, proportional breadth across qualifying authorities, and usable public accountability.
The practical conclusion is not that one logo should be accepted automatically or that every lower-scoring certificate is invalid. Halal certificates are not interchangeable. Consumers, institutions, regulators, manufacturers, and purchasing teams should verify the exact issuer, current certificate status, covered products and locations, responsible decision authority, audit method, disclosed halal positions, and the accreditation scope that actually applies.
Each assessment identifies the exact requirement, current status, evidence route, evidence basis, and Model B components. An authorized representative receives the private requirement-by-requirement improvement checklist after the certification-body claim is verified; the annual review fee begins only when formal evidence is submitted. Qualifying evidence may raise or lower a result under the same rules.
This accountability assessment applies the published USDHS methodology as an evidence-review framework; it does not replace the controlling HIPS standard or make a religious ruling on every certificate or product.
Corrections, responses, and future coverage
Every ranked organization has a linked comprehensive assessment and the same secure correction pathway. Documentary evidence is evaluated under the same methodology whether it raises or lowers a result. An organization may explain a disputed fact, identify an entity error, document a current credential, publish its certification criteria, or provide confidentiality-protected records for control and operational review without receiving public-evidence credit for material that remains non-public.
An authorized representative may also select Claim this certification body. The claim requires the exact legal entity, official website, organization email, title, authority basis, and qualifying authorization document. USDHS independently verifies the relationship. Verification permits an accountable evidence and response channel; it does not confer editorial control, expose private research, or automatically change an article, Credibility Score, Grade, ranking, certification status, accreditation decision, or legal conclusion.
Readers and organizations may use the secure form at /submit-evidence. The census will also be updated when a qualifying U.S. certifier is newly established or supported by records unavailable by the source cutoff. No response grants a veto over publication, and no silence is treated as proof of wrongdoing.
Frequently asked questions
Which U.S. halal certification body ranks first?
IFANCA ranks first at 96.3593 raw points, displayed as 96% and Grade A, under Model B.
How does Model B weight accreditation?
A current comprehensive independent accreditation of the exact assessed entity establishes up to 90 competence points. Every qualifying authority contributes 0.8000 of four proportional breadth points against the five-authority national benchmark, and public accountability adds up to six points.
Are multiple accreditations counted repeatedly?
No. Overlapping personnel, governance, audit, and decision requirements are counted once. Distinct qualifying authorities contribute proportional breadth rather than multiplying the same requirement credit.
How is an exact score tie ordered?
Rank is determined by the unrounded raw score. If IFANCA, Halal Watch Certification, and American Halal Foundation all have exactly the same unrounded raw score, the disclosed tie-break order is IFANCA, Halal Watch Certification, then American Halal Foundation. The tie-break does not apply when their raw scores differ.
Can a non-accredited body be ranked?
Yes. Verified control and operational evidence is normalized to the same 90-point competence component, but no accreditation-breadth points are awarded without qualifying current exact-entity credentials.
Can an assessed body submit a correction?
Yes. Any person may submit qualifying documentary evidence, and an authorized representative may request to claim the certification body. Evidence is reviewed under the same Model B rules whether it raises or lowers the result.
References
- USDHS: How USDHS Calculates a Halal Certification Body Credibility Score
- New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets: Halal Foods Protection Act overview
- USDA Foreign Agricultural Service: Indonesia Accredits Five U.S. Halal Certifying Bodies
- JAKIM: Recognised Foreign Halal Certification Bodies and Authorities
- Gulf Accreditation Center: Accredited Bodies Directory
- Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura: Recognised Foreign Halal Certification Bodies
- Central Islamic Council of Thailand: Foreign Halal Certification Body Directory
- Halal Accreditation Agency: Halal Regulations in the United States of America
- USDHS Form 1002-D — HCB Declaration Form: Halal Certification Body Declarations
- Halalco Inc.: Certification information and public procedures
- Global Islamic Research Organization: Get Certified
- Ben Issa Halal Meat Solutions: Certification
- Al Nur Truly Halal Services: Halal criteria
- Hijrah Ranch: Halal certification program
- American Halal Institute: Certification program
- USDHS: Halal Transactions of Omaha Accountability Assessment
- USDHS: Islamic Information Center of America Accountability Assessment
- United Ulama Council of USA Inc.: Official website and halal food and products licensing list
- New York Department of Agriculture and Markets: Halal Establishment Registrations
- Candid: United Ulama Council of USA Inc. public nonprofit profile
View the controlling HIPS publication