
What accountability requires
Halal certification depends on competent people, Islamic authority, a halal-specific audit, an impartial decision, and records that connect the final certificate to the work performed. Publicly verifiable evidence matters because consumers and clients must be able to identify the certifier and understand what its certificate covers. Consumers face challenges when evaluating the reliability of halal claims on meat, poultry, dry goods, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics, especially when the underlying audit method, personnel, and religious authority are not fully transparent. Halal Food Council USA is an international Halal-certifying body operating in North America, claiming operation since 1984. It is headquartered in Princess Anne, Maryland, and provides certification services across various sectors. The assessed entity is Halal Food Council USA, with claimed historical continuity to Halal Food Council S.E.A. treated only where documented. [1] [2] [3]
Entity and accreditation boundary
The organization claims recognition from MUI (Indonesia) and registration with JAKIM (Malaysia). However, these claims are not current Tier A exact-entity accreditations according to the official directories reviewed. No current recognized accreditation under methodology 2.4 was independently verified. This assessment relies on direct evidence and public records. The score reflects the absence of Tier A accreditation and the reliance on first-party claims that lack detailed public verification. [2] [6] [7]
Halal Industry Exposé · Comprehensive Accountability Assessment
Halal Food Council USA, with claimed historical continuity to Halal Food Council S.E.A. treated only where documented Organizational accountability: 38% · Grade F · Insufficiently substantiated
Moderate confidence. Halal Food Council USA receives 38%, Grade F. The organization claims operation since 1984 and demonstrates active U.S. presence, but lacks verifiable Tier A exact-entity accreditation, complete public personnel authorizations, and a public certificate directory.
This comprehensive organizational accountability assessment combines the standardized score with the documented business-practice investigation. Flags explain evidence already scored inside the eleven fixed metrics and create no separate bonus or penalty points. The article does not rule that every certificate is invalid, prove that an undisclosed control does not exist, or infer anyone’s religion or intent. HIPS provides the analytical framework but does not replace the organization’s governing certification standard.
Halal Certification Body Accountability Assessment version 2.4. Source cutoff September 13, 2026. Last reviewed September 13, 2026. Raw score 37.7150 out of 100, ordinarily rounded to 38%.
Trust overview
Green flags and red flags
These flags explain evidence already scored inside the eleven fixed metrics. They do not create separate bonus or penalty points.
Green flags
Documented certification process and named leadership
The organization has a documented certification process, named leadership, and a long claimed operating history (since 1984) with active certification functions.
Metrics: #3, #6, #11
Score treatment: This flag explains evidence already reflected in metrics 3, 6, and 11 and creates no separate bonus.
Boundary: The cited public process and leadership materials establish the disclosed roles and certification activity, not complete file-level assignments, competence records, or decision records.
Red flags
No verified Tier A exact-entity accreditation
The organization claims recognition from MUI (Indonesia) and registration with JAKIM (Malaysia). However, these claims are not current Tier A exact-entity accreditations according to the official directories reviewed. No current recognized accreditation under methodology 2.4 was independently verified.
Metrics: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11
Score treatment: No separate penalty is applied. The absence of a verified qualifying credential means no accreditation-derived assurance is added; direct evidence remains scored in its applicable metrics.
Boundary: This is a bounded no-match finding in the official directories reviewed through the source cutoff, not proof that no credential exists anywhere.
Personnel qualifications and impartiality structures are not independently verified
Detailed personnel competence records, exact beneficial ownership, and impartiality structures remain unverified and not publicly verified.
Metrics: #2, #4, #5, #7
Score treatment: This flag explains the limited factors already assigned in metrics 2, 4, 5, and 7 and creates no separate deduction.
Boundary: Missing public qualification, authorization, ownership, or impartiality records are treated as non-verification, not proof that the controls or people do not exist.
No accessible certificate directory or complaints procedure
There is no accessible certificate directory or published complaints and appeals procedure.
Metrics: #9, #10
Score treatment: This flag explains evidence already scored in metrics 9 and 10 and creates no separate deduction.
Boundary: The reviewed public pages did not provide a complete live certificate register or formal complaint and appeal procedure; this does not establish that no internal records or process exists.
Accreditation examined
None Verified · None. None. Unverified. Accredited None; expiry None.
Scope: The organization claims recognition from MUI (Indonesia) and registration with JAKIM (Malaysia). However, these claims are not current Tier A exact-entity accreditations according to the official directories reviewed. No current recognized accreditation under methodology 2.4 was independently verified. This assessment relies on direct evidence and public records.
Third-party independence: No verified Tier A accreditation.
Status factor 0 percent; scope factor 0 percent; independence factor 0 percent; accreditation assurance factor 0 percent.
How USDHS grades organizational accountability
Each metric is 60 percent control assurance, 25 percent operational evidence, and 15 percent public evidence. Government records and other authoritative public sources count even when the certifier does not reproduce them on its own website. A recognized accreditation of the exact entity and scope can support the control layer and part of operational evidence; it never creates public-evidence credit or transfers across entities without the required bridge. Classification bands: A, 90 to 100, strongly substantiated; B, 80 to 89, substantiated; C, 70 to 79, partially substantiated; D, 60 to 69, material gaps; F, 0 to 59, insufficiently substantiated.
Part 2
Numbered assessment metrics
1. Legal identity and operating status
Legal entity, jurisdiction, operating identity, formation, status, address, and required registrations.
77.25% of this metric; 4.63 of 6 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 85 percent evidence factor; 3.06 points. Active U.S. presence and certification function confirmed through New York Department of Agriculture and Markets registration and recent certificate evidence. However, exact Maryland business entity registration number was not publicly located in state databases.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 75 percent evidence factor; 1.13 points. Operations demonstrate a functional presence via recent certificates and state registration.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.45 points. A reliable public record establishes the core fact, but the exact Maryland business entity registration number was not publicly located.
Metric conclusion: Active U.S. presence and certification function confirmed through New York Department of Agriculture and Markets registration and recent certificate evidence. However, exact Maryland business entity registration number was not publicly located in state databases.
2. Ownership and control
Beneficial owners, percentages, controlling persons, governance rights, related parties, and conflicts.
40.00% of this metric; 4.00 of 10 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 3.00 points. Board of Directors is published on the website, but beneficial ownership percentages, governance rights, and related-party controls are not publicly disclosed.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.63 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.38 points. Public evidence is vague regarding ownership percentages and governance rights.
Metric conclusion: Board of Directors is published on the website, but beneficial ownership percentages, governance rights, and related-party controls are not publicly disclosed.
3. Governance and accountable leadership
Named leadership, governing bodies, organizational structure, management responsibility, and accountable contacts.
43.75% of this metric; 6.13 of 14 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 4.20 points. The organization publishes a list of its Board of Directors, including the President and Executive Director, providing basic accountable leadership information. However, detailed organizational structure and management responsibilities are not publicly verified.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.88 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence without accreditation.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 1.05 points. A reliable public record establishes core facts.
Metric conclusion: The organization publishes a list of its Board of Directors, including the President and Executive Director, providing basic accountable leadership information. However, detailed organizational structure and management responsibilities are not publicly verified.
4. Personnel competence and authorization
Auditor, reviewer, technical-expert, and contractor qualifications, training, authorization, monitoring, and assignments.
25.00% of this metric; 4.50 of 18 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 2.70 points. While the website outlines the requirement for a Muslim slaughterman and mentions auditors, specific personnel qualifications, education, halal training, and authorization records are not publicly verified.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 1.13 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.68 points. Public evidence is vague.
Metric conclusion: While the website outlines the requirement for a Muslim slaughterman and mentions auditors, specific personnel qualifications, education, halal training, and authorization records are not publicly verified.
5. Islamic authority and halal decision
Qualified Islamic-affairs personnel, governing authority, jurisprudential basis, review roles, and final halal decisions.
25.00% of this metric; 4.50 of 18 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 2.70 points. The site identifies a Shariah Council and Technical Director only by role. Current responsible people, qualifications, appointment, file assignments, review responsibilities, and final decision authority were not independently verified. The role disclosure supports limited public evidence but invokes the person-dependent 0.25 control ceiling.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 1.13 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.68 points. The core fact is established publicly but invokes the 0.25 ceiling.
Metric conclusion: The site identifies a Shariah Council and Technical Director only by role. Current responsible people, qualifications, appointment, file assignments, review responsibilities, and final decision authority were not independently verified. The role disclosure supports limited public evidence but invokes the person-dependent 0.25 control ceiling.
6. Halal audit method and facility verification
Application, scope review, documents, on-site work, ingredients, processes, findings, corrections, reports, surveillance, and recertification.
55.75% of this metric; 7.80 of 14 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 70 percent evidence factor; 5.88 points. A documented six-step certification process, including application, inspection, and post-certification monitoring, is published. Detailed file-level implementation, findings, and corrective actions are not publicly verified.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.88 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 1.05 points. A reliable public record establishes core facts.
Metric conclusion: A documented six-step certification process, including application, inspection, and post-certification monitoring, is published. Detailed file-level implementation, findings, and corrective actions are not publicly verified.
7. Impartiality and decision separation
Conflicts, consultancy separation, impartiality oversight, and separation among audit, review, and certification decisions.
21.25% of this metric; 1.70 of 8 weighted points. unverified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 1.20 points. No publicly verifiable evidence of a separate impartiality committee, conflict controls, or structural separation between consulting and certification decisions was located.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.50 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 0 percent evidence factor; 0.00 points. No responsive public evidence.
Metric conclusion: No publicly verifiable evidence of a separate impartiality committee, conflict controls, or structural separation between consulting and certification decisions was located.
8. Standards, scheme, and certification scope
Governing standards, sectors, locations, exclusions, religious positions, certificate scope, and scheme boundaries.
50.00% of this metric; 2.00 of 4 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 1.20 points. The organization states it follows Codex Alimentarius (1997) guidelines for halal. Detailed scheme boundaries and specific exclusions are not fully publicly detailed.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.50 points. A specific sample demonstrates part of the control operationally.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.30 points. The core fact is established publicly.
Metric conclusion: The organization states it follows Codex Alimentarius (1997) guidelines for halal. Detailed scheme boundaries and specific exclusions are not fully publicly detailed.
9. Certificate traceability and mark control
Current certificate verification, identifiers, holders, sites, products, dates, status changes, and mark misuse controls.
36.25% of this metric; 1.45 of 4 weighted points. unverified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 1.20 points. Certificates are stated to be valid for one year and renewable, but there is no publicly accessible directory of certified clients or certificate status changes.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 25 percent evidence factor; 0.25 points. Operations demonstrate limited evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 0 percent evidence factor; 0.00 points. No responsive public evidence.
Metric conclusion: Certificates are stated to be valid for one year and renewable, but there is no publicly accessible directory of certified clients or certificate status changes.
10. Complaints, appeals, and corrections
Complaint and appeal routes, timing, independent review, records, corrections, escalation, and non-retaliation.
0.00% of this metric; 0.00 of 2 weighted points. unverified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 0 percent evidence factor; 0.00 points. No publicly verifiable procedure for complaints, appeals, or corrections was located on the organization's website or other public sources.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 0 percent evidence factor; 0.00 points. No operational evidence.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 0 percent evidence factor; 0.00 points. No responsive public evidence.
Metric conclusion: No publicly verifiable procedure for complaints, appeals, or corrections was located on the organization's website or other public sources.
11. Operating history and demonstrated capacity
Corroborated timeline, current activity, clients, sectors, personnel resources, and workload matched to competent capacity.
50.00% of this metric; 1.00 of 2 weighted points. partially verified.
Accreditation effect: No accreditation control assurance.
- A. Control assurance, 60 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.60 points. The organization claims operation since 1984 and demonstrates current activity through recent certificates and registration, establishing a long operating history.
- B. Operational evidence, 25 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.25 points. A specific sample demonstrates part of the control operationally.
- C. Public evidence, 15 percent
- 50 percent evidence factor; 0.15 points. The core fact is established publicly.
Metric conclusion: The organization claims operation since 1984 and demonstrates current activity through recent certificates and registration, establishing a long operating history.
Part 3
Conclusion
Strongest findings
- The organization has a documented certification process.
- Named leadership is published.
- Long claimed operating history (since 1984) with active certification functions.
Material gaps
- Lack of publicly verifiable Tier A accreditation.
- Absence of an accessible certificate directory.
- Missing impartiality and conflict-of-interest controls.
- No published complaints or appeals procedures.
- Detailed personnel competence records and exact beneficial ownership are not publicly disclosed.
Unresolved questions
- Exact Maryland business entity registration number.
- Detailed personnel qualifications.
- Impartiality structures remain unverified.
Score interpretation
- Raw score: 37.7150. The displayed score uses ordinary rounding.
Material records are rescored under the same rules, whether they raise or lower the result. Submit documentary evidence through the secure evidence and correction form.
Evidence boundary
This assessment evaluates the organizational accountability of Halal Food Council USA. It does not infer religion, intent, fraud, illegality, fictitious identities, or certificate invalidity. A mark proves that a mark appeared, and a certificate proves what the certificate states. None of those facts automatically proves the underlying audit method, personnel, motive, ownership, religious identity, or correctness of a decision. Where specific personnel, owners, or committees could not be identified after reasonable first-party and authoritative searches, they are described as not independently verified or not publicly verified. A coordinated visit can preserve separate kosher and halal work, but efficiency can never eliminate the halal audit.
Correction pathway
Halal Food Council USA may submit responsive evidence through the secure documentary-evidence form. The score may change if current exact-entity accreditation records or other evidence that substantiates the relevant control, a public certificate directory, impartiality controls, or a complaints procedure is provided. To submit corrections or evidence, please use the [secure documentary-evidence form](/submit-evidence?article=halal-food-council-usa-accountability-assessment).
This assessment explains public evidence and organizational accountability. It does not replace the controlling HIPS standard, an accreditation or certification decision, a religious ruling, or legal advice.
Frequently asked questions
Is Halal Food Council USA accredited by a recognized Tier A authority?
No current recognized Tier A exact-entity accreditation was independently verified for Halal Food Council USA according to the official directories reviewed. Claims of recognition from MUI and registration with JAKIM were noted but did not meet Tier A criteria under methodology 2.4.
Does Halal Food Council USA publish a directory of certified clients?
No, there is no publicly accessible directory of certified clients or certificate status changes available on the organization's website.
Are the qualifications of the halal auditors and Islamic authorities public?
While the website mentions auditors and a Shariah Council, specific personnel qualifications, education, halal training, and authorization records are not independently verified and remain not publicly verified.
Does the organization have a published complaints and appeals procedure?
No publicly verifiable procedure for complaints, appeals, or corrections was located on the organization's website or other public sources.
How long has Halal Food Council USA been operating?
The organization claims operation since 1984 and demonstrates current activity through recent certificates and registration, establishing a long operating history.
References
- Halal Food Council USA, Home and Current Certification Services
- Halal Food Council USA, About and Board of Directors
- Halal Food Council USA, Services
- Halal Food Council USA, Certification Guidelines and Procedures
- New York Department of Agriculture and Markets, Halal Certifier Registrations
- JAKIM, Recognised Foreign Halal Certification Bodies, August 21, 2026
- GCC Accreditation Center, Accredited Bodies Directory