
Worldwide comparison scope
Worldwide comparison scope: Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, Thailand, Japan, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, Türkiye, Pakistan, the United Kingdom and the United States. Edition date: 15 October 2026.
A halal logo answers a useful but limited question: it says that a named system has certified something. Before relying on it, a shopper, buyer or exporter still needs to know who made the rule, what the certificate covers, and whether the destination will accept it. A certificate may cover one product, factory, kitchen, slaughter line, shipment or service; a foreign regulator may also require a separate recognition, registration, plant approval or import document. A company can therefore have a genuine certificate and still be unable to use it for a particular market or product.
That is the practical issue behind worldwide differences. The systems compared here do not begin from a common government authority or a single global alcohol or slaughter rule. Some are public halal-assurance systems that issue or control certificates. Some are destination-market import systems. Others leave halal meaning to private certifiers while food, animal-welfare and label law remain public. The result is not a league table. It is a set of different legal and operational pathways that must be matched to the product, facility and destination.
Start with five questions. First, is the product within a mandatory or voluntary halal route? Second, is the named certification body competent for the exact activity, such as food manufacturing rather than poultry slaughter? Third, does the destination recognise that body and scope? Fourth, do the formula, materials, process aids, shared equipment and labels meet the scheme? Fifth, for meat and poultry, does the actual slaughter method meet the receiving market’s conditions? These questions are related, but they are not interchangeable.
The terms are easier in plain English. A standard sets requirements. A certification body assesses a product, facility, service or system against a scheme and issues its certificate. An accreditation body checks whether that certification body is competent for a stated scope. A regulator or destination authority may then decide whether an overseas certificate is acceptable in its market. A religious authority, sharia council or fatwa committee may make, advise on or control the religious determination. In some countries one public system connects several of these functions; in others they are institutionally separate.[1] [2]
A positive result at one stage does not automatically answer the next. GCC Accreditation Center (GAC) accreditation, for example, is evidence of a halal certification body’s competence against its defined scope; it is not a border clearance for every GCC country. Indonesia’s Halal Product Assurance Organizing Agency (BPJPH) is not merely an MOU signer: it regulates Indonesia’s halal-assurance system, issues certificates, accredits LPH inspection bodies, runs foreign-body assessment/cooperation routes and requires registration of qualifying foreign certificates before distribution. Conversely, a bilateral MOU or MRA is not the same as a product certificate, a plant approval, a certificate-registration number or a customs release.[1] [3] [4]
The sixteen guides below explain each system in depth. This article compares their material differences; it does not replace licensed standards, current regulator directories or a certificate’s actual scope.
| Country or market | Main public route in the evidence | What the applicant must not assume | Detailed guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indonesia | BPJPH regulator/issuer, LPH examination and MUI or designated determination | A foreign certificate works without BPJPH recognition and registration | Indonesia |
| Malaysia | JAKIM and MAIN/JAIN certification authorities | Voluntary certification means unregulated halal claims, or that any foreign body is accepted | Malaysia |
| Singapore | MUIS statutory halal issuer and foreign-body recogniser | An overseas manufacturer is directly certified by MUIS | Singapore |
| Brunei Darussalam | MUIB final halal decision; statutory meat/import controls | Foreign certificates have automatic general recognition | Brunei |
| Thailand | CICOT and Provincial Islamic Committees [45] | A recognised overseas certificate automatically earns a CICOT mark | Thailand |
| Japan | Private certification and destination-market conditions | Japan has a national halal regulator, logo or compulsory domestic scheme | Japan |
| Saudi Arabia | Saudi Halal Center/SFDA designation and import evidence | GAC accreditation alone is Saudi recognition | Saudi Arabia |
| United Arab Emirates | MoIAT halal system, registered HCBs and National Halal Mark | Accreditation by itself is UAE market registration | United Arab Emirates |
| Qatar | MOPH authorised Islamic-body and food-import route | A halal logo alone proves MOPH acceptance | Qatar |
| Kuwait | PAFN food-import route | GAC’s directory is a PAFN foreign-facility list | Kuwait |
| Bahrain | MMAA national halal system and designation route | The 2025 meat focus proves every food needs a certificate | Bahrain |
| Oman | MAFWR/FSQC food-control and national GSO adoption | A rule adopted elsewhere in the GCC is automatically Omani law | Oman |
| Türkiye | HAK accreditation architecture; HCBs such as TSE certify in scope | HAK itself issues halal certificates or fatwas | Türkiye |
| Pakistan | PHA sector authority, PSQCA standards and PNAC architecture | A PHA entry, accreditation and mark licence are the same thing | Pakistan |
| United Kingdom | Private certifiers alongside public food and welfare law | FSA/FSS/DAERA approval itself is halal certification | United Kingdom |
| United States | Private certifiers alongside federal and state food/label rules | USDA/FSIS supplies a nationwide religious halal code | United States |
Which countries make halal certification mandatory, and for what?
The phrase “mandatory halal certification” needs a product and date. Indonesia has the broadest statutory architecture in this comparison. Its staged system covers specified foods, drinks, slaughtered products and slaughter services, along with listed inputs and other categories. The relevant 2026 stages run through 17 October 2026, and BPJPH describes implementation from 18 October 2026. This is not a universal statement that every product on the Indonesian market must carry a halal certificate. Products made from prohibited materials are excluded from certification and instead need non-halal information; later medicine and medical-device stages remain.[3] [5]
Brunei has mandatory application duties for particular domestic food-preparation and processing routes under its certificate/label order. Its permit, certificate, foreign-food and meat-import routes differ. Malaysia’s SPHM application system remains voluntary nationally, although halal claims, use of marks and the scope of a granted certificate are controlled. Singapore’s MUIS certification is voluntary and scope-specific. Thailand’s TAS 8400:2025 governs food certified under that standard; the reviewed evidence does not make it a universal food-certification duty.[6] [7] [8] [9]
Across the Gulf, the evidence is also category-specific. Saudi Circular 10130 identifies unprocessed permissible meat, processed meat, compound foods containing listed animal-origin material and goods using a HALAL word or logo. Qatar’s import guidance focuses on meat/poultry, foods with animal-origin ingredients and substantiated halal claims. Kuwait requires halal documentation for red meat, poultry, birds and foods containing designated animal-origin ingredients. Bahrain’s published 2025 implementation identifies imported poultry, livestock meat and related products. Oman has a clear halal-certificate expectation for meat and meat products; a 1 July 2027 issuer-designation condition reported by Al Shabiba, citing the Food Safety and Quality Centre, applies where a halal certificate is already required, not automatically to every food.[10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [41]
The UAE’s National Halal Mark is optional, while products represented as halal are controlled by the UAE halal system and slaughter is subject to the mandatory UAE.S 993:2022 regulation. Türkiye treats halal assessment as voluntary, but puts legal conditions on bodies doing covered domestic-market certification. Pakistan’s federal Act covers articles and processes represented as halal in export, import and the Islamabad Capital Territory; SRO 237 has a specified processed-food import rule with recorded exclusions, not an all-product mandate. Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States have no evidenced general domestic halal-certification mandate. A retailer, buyer or export customer can still make a specified certificate commercially essential in any of these places.[15] [16] [17] [18]
| Country or group | Verified scope signal | Applicant-facing impact |
|---|---|---|
| Indonesia | Broad, staged statutory coverage; prohibited-material products use non-halal information | Classify the product, HS code and stage before selecting a route; do not treat 18 October 2026 as “all products.”[3] [5] |
| Brunei | Defined domestic preparation/processing application duties; distinct import and meat controls | Identify certificate versus permit versus meat-import approval before applying.[6] |
| Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand | Voluntary or standard/scheme-specific domestic certification | A halal claim or certificate scope still controls operations even where the application is voluntary.[7] [8] [9] |
| Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman | Strongest published duties concern meat, animal-origin ingredients, halal claims or listed import categories | Match the commodity and shipment evidence to the market’s listed trigger; do not generalise to all foods.[10] [11] [12] [13] [14] |
| UAE, Türkiye, Pakistan | Public halal/assessment architecture with category, representation or domestic-market conditions | Separate market access, mark use, HCB authority and product coverage.[15] [16] [17] |
| Japan, UK, US | No universal national halal certificate requirement shown | Choose an appropriately scoped private certificate when a buyer, claim or export destination requires one.[18] [19] [20] |
Why is there no worldwide 0.1% or 0.5% alcohol rule?
There is no blanket 0.1% or 0.5% halal rule in the records compared. Those figures appear only in defined systems and product categories. They cannot be moved from one jurisdiction, unit, product class or private scheme to another. A percentage can refer to a finished beverage, a particular flavouring use, a different analytical basis or a private certifier policy. It may say nothing about an intentionally added alcoholic drink, a raw ingredient, a fermentation by-product or a cleaning/processing material.
Malaysia’s official Muzakarah material is a useful illustration of why category matters. It treats qualifying non-liquor soft drinks below 1% v/v separately from a 0.5% final-food/drink condition for alcohol-containing flavour or colour stabiliser from a non-beverage-making origin. Natural or by-product fermentation and medicine/fragrance solvent questions have their own treatment. Indonesia’s Fatwa 10/2018 likewise has a defined 0.5% C2H5OH treatment for certain final beverage categories, while food, intermediate flavour, industrial non-*khamr* ethanol and fermented food are analysed differently. Neither record creates an all-food ingredient or laboratory-detection threshold.[21] [22]
Singapore’s current public materials identify a maximum of 0.5% in the flavouring and 0.1% in the finished product only for qualifying non-*khamr* ethanol used as a flavouring solvent; the accessible material does not publish the unit basis or an analytical method. Kuwait’s 0.05% point is a non-alcohol beer condition in a U.S. trade resource, not a general PAFN food rule. In the UK, 1.2% ABV is a drink-label alcoholic-strength trigger, not a halal allowance. U.S. private schemes differ, and their published numbers are not federal standards.[23] [12] [19] [20] [28] [34] [39]
GSO 2538:2021 is often cited too broadly. Its public record concerns ethanol residues from natural cross-fermentation or flavouring-solvent use, but does not disclose the numerical table, units or method. The public record does not support a universal Saudi, Gulf or UAE “0.5% rule.” The same care applies to Japan, Thailand, Brunei, Qatar, Bahrain, Oman, Türkiye and Pakistan, for which the reviewed evidence either states a prohibition or provides no nationally applicable numerical residual-ethanol limit and method.[24] [26]
The workable specification is therefore not “alcohol-free” alone. It should say whether the issue is an intentionally added alcoholic drink, ethanol used as an ingredient, carrier, solvent or processing aid, naturally formed fermentation, a chemical alcohol that is not ethanol, or a residue in the finished product. It should identify origin, amount, units, product stage and the applicable scheme’s test method if one is required. That record is more useful to an auditor and less likely to turn a marketing claim into a false universal rule.
| Market | What the reviewed evidence actually supports | What it does not support |
|---|---|---|
| Indonesia | Under Fatwa 10/2018, specified non-khamr final beverages may be permissible below 0.5% C2H5OH if medically non-harmful; an alcoholic drink at 0.5% or more is treated as khamr. Food, origins and intermediate products are treated separately.[22] | A 0.5% or 0.1% limit for every food, ingredient or analytical result |
| Malaysia | Under 1% v/v for qualifying non-liquor soft drinks; 0.5% for final food/drink using a specified stabiliser route.[21] | One countrywide ethanol limit or a published universal method |
| Singapore | For qualifying non-khamr ethanol used only as a flavouring solvent: no more than 0.5% in the flavouring and 0.1% in the finished product. The published fatwa does not state the unit basis or a test method.[39] | A universal 0.1% national threshold [39] |
| Saudi Arabia and UAE | GSO 2538 public scope is natural cross-fermentation/flavouring-solvent residue.[24] | A public universal Gulf/Saudi/UAE percentage or “zero alcohol” test |
| Kuwait | 0.05% is a non-alcohol-beer import condition in the cited resource.[12] [28] | A PAFN universal food-ethanol limit |
| UK and US | 1.2% ABV is UK beverage labelling; U.S. private policies diverge.[19] [20] [34] | A national halal numerical rule in either country |
| Remaining markets | Reviewed records either prohibit alcohol/intoxicating drinks or do not publish a national threshold/method.[6] [9] [11] [13] [14] [16] [17] [18] | A number inferred from another country, standard family or private scheme |
How do slaughter and stunning rules differ in practice?
Three separate questions are often compressed into the word “stunned”: whether the animal is alive at the cut; whether the method is permitted for its species and equipment; and whether the entire slaughter procedure meets the receiving scheme. An animal that appears recoverable is not automatically compliant. It can still fail a rule on equipment, method, species, invocation, cutter, cut anatomy, line monitoring, records or destination recognition.
Indonesia is explicit about the distinction. Its 2026 ruminant and poultry guideline allows specified temporary, non-lethal stunning methods: for ruminants, head-only electrical, non-penetrative mechanical or electromagnetic; for poultry, water-bath head-only electrical. It also requires the animal to be alive at the cut, controls the cut and invocation, and requires verification records. The public guideline does not justify a universal voltage/current chart or a universal blood-drainage duration. [46]
Malaysia does not encourage stunning but permits electrical and pneumatic-percussive methods under its conditions, including competent-authority approval, trained Muslim supervision, controlled equipment, no death or permanent injury and life at cut. The accessible official extraction did not reliably expose its detailed Appendix C settings. Thailand makes stunning prohibited as a baseline, with a necessary electrical route subject to validated parameters and Islamic-organisation verification; poultry has additional water-bath, alive-through-cut and drainage conditions. Thailand’s examples are not universal numerical limits.[7] [9]
The Gulf cannot be treated as one reversible-stunning bloc. Saudi evidence supports a current poultry stunning/immobilisation ban; it does not prove a generic all-species Saudi table. Kuwait permits livestock stunning subject to applicable technical limits and life/stability at slaughter, but prohibits poultry stunning, electric shock and loss of consciousness. Qatar’s guideline contemplates electrical stunning under technical limits, while its 180-second bleed rule applies to automated poultry only. Brunei allows stunning only when it is temporary, non-penetrative/non-head-breaking and causes no permanent brain damage, death or disability. The UAE does not recommend stunning, but permits controlled loss of consciousness where it does not cause death/cardiac arrest, reduce bleeding or increase suffering; its electrical table is expressly voluntary rather than a fixed universal permission.[10] [11] [12] [6] [15] [26] [27]
Pakistan is a particularly important national-deviation warning. The accessible secondary account of its PS:3733-2022 national annex reports an all-stunning prohibition and hand-slaughter requirement, stricter than the parent OIC/SMIIC framework. Because the controlled national text was not retrieved, the detailed report is appropriately qualified; no parent-standard permission should be assumed to override a national annex. Türkiye’s adopted OIC/SMIIC-oriented system prohibits stunning in principle with a narrow electric-shock exception and requires life before slaughter, while HAK’s audit guidance seeks evidence on amperage, viability, water bath and line speed. Informative annex values are not proven Turkish statutory settings.[17] [16] [29]
The United Kingdom has animal-welfare law that normally requires stunning while allowing a religious-rites slaughterhouse exception. In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, detailed non-stun Muslim routes include a Muslim certificate holder, a sharp hand-held knife and specified species/cut conditions. This is public welfare law, not a national halal certificate rule. HMC publicly rejects stunning and mechanical slaughter as its own private policy; the detailed current HFA policy is not public. The United States similarly regulates humane methods and inspection but does not issue a federal theological stunning ruling: AHF and ISWA publish different private approaches. Japan has no uniform national halal stunning rule in the evidence reviewed.[19] [20] [18] [30] [31] [32] [33] [35] [36] [44]
| Market | Slaughter baseline in the evidence | Stunning / mechanical point that needs separate verification |
|---|---|---|
| Indonesia | Live at cut; intentional invocation; one quick cut through trachea, oesophagus and stated blood vessels.[4] | Defined temporary non-lethal species/method limits; mechanical poultry is conditional with qualified Muslim operator and start/restart invocation.[4] |
| Malaysia | Muslim slaughterer, invocation, complete specified severance and death before later processing.[7] | Conditional electrical/pneumatic-percussive stunning; mechanical knife requires a Muslim operator and observation.[7] |
| Singapore | Qualified Muslim slaughterer and sharp complete one-cut severance in public material.[23] | Fresh whole poultry: water-bath electric only; public current text does not settle general mechanical-slaughter policy. [40] |
| Brunei | Muslim/local-authorised slaughterer, life at cut, invocation and one continuous action.[6] | Conditional temporary, non-injurious stunning; PBD 24:2007 says mechanical slaughter is prohibited, while current meat rules reviewed do not repeat that wording. [38] |
| Thailand | Animal alive, per-animal *Bismillah*, one continuous cut and natural complete bleeding.[9] | Stunning baseline prohibited; manual poultry on an automatic rack is not proof a mechanical blade is allowed. |
| Japan | Private schemes require Muslim slaughter personnel; JIT publicly describes one sharp specified cut.[18] | No nationwide rule or public universal setting; receive written scheme and destination confirmation for machinery. |
| Saudi Arabia | Recognised-body slaughter evidence is required for meat/parts.[10] | Public evidence supports a poultry stunning/immobilisation ban, not a general Gulf or all-species rule. [26] |
| UAE | Live at cut, required front-neck cut, *Basmala* and death before processing.[15] [27] | Controlled non-lethal loss of consciousness can be allowed; automatic poultry has its own operator/blade/manual-backup controls. [27] |
| Qatar | Live at slaughter, prescribed cut and bleeding; dedicated/segregated halal facility.[11] | Electrical stunning under species-relevant limits; 180 seconds applies only to mechanical poultry bleeding. |
| Kuwait | Life at cut, invocation, prescribed cut and confirmed death before later stages.[12] | Livestock may be stunned within technical limits; poultry stunning/electric shock/loss of consciousness are prohibited. |
| Bahrain and Oman | National GSO 993 adoption is verified, but paid clauses were inaccessible.[13] [14] | Do not invent cut, machine, drainage or stunning provisions; obtain current national text and authority confirmation. |
| Türkiye | Live healthy animal, qualified adult Muslim slaughterer, invocation, prescribed cuts and complete bleeding.[16] | Principal ban with narrow electric exception; evidence on settings and viability remains material. |
| Pakistan | Accessible analysis reports hand slaughter and all-stunning prohibition in national annex.[17] [29] | Controlled national text was unavailable: do not invent its cut, invocation or drainage details. |
| United Kingdom | Welfare rules distinguish normal stunning from a limited religious non-stun route.[19] | HMC’s no-stun/no-machine position is private; current HFA detail is not publicly verified. [33] |
| United States | Federal humane/inspection law does not define Islamic cut, invocation or certificate conditions.[20] [44] | Private schemes differ on reversible stunning and mechanical poultry; countrywide rules were not found. [35] [36] |
Does a country’s school of jurisprudence decide the certification outcome?
Not by itself. A school of jurisprudence can be part of a standard’s history, a public-law context or a certifier’s scholarly method. It should not be used as a shortcut to a person’s religion, professional competence or authority to decide a file. Nor does a national religious tradition prove that every certificate follows one school in the same way.
Malaysia is commonly described as Shafi‘i-oriented. That is useful context but not a conclusion that every national Muzakarah decision is a gazetted binding state fatwa, or that every applicant faces a single identical state result. In the Federal Territories model, the mufti normally follows accepted Shafi‘i positions but may use Hanafi, Maliki or Hanbali positions for public interest. Thailand’s TAS definition refers to Hanafi, Maliki, Shafi‘i and Hanbali schools rather than selecting one for all decisions. The UAE regulation says it considered jurisprudential differences but does not adopt one countrywide school.[7] [9] [15] [42]
Brunei’s statutory *Hukum Syara* definition uses the Shafi‘i school or another school approved by the Sultan. Türkiye’s Hanafi background and Pakistan scholarship’s Hanafi-influence discussion are context, not universal applicant qualifications. Indonesia’s binding materials are its statute, BPJPH guidance and MUI fatwa standards; they do not verify a Shafi‘i-only national certification rule. The United States provides a clear private-scheme example: USDHS’s publicly described method considers Hanafi, Maliki, Shafi‘i and Hanbali positions, but it says neither federal law nor a sole U.S. framework.[6] [3] [16] [17] [20] [43] [44]
For a disputed question, the file should identify the operative document: the regulator’s binding rule, the certification scheme, the fatwa or sharia committee decision, and the certificate’s declared scope. “This country is X school” is not adequate evidence of the position on a flavour, enzyme, stunning device or particular production method.
Who conducts technical review, makes the religious determination and issues the certificate?
People’s roles matter as much as their titles. A technical auditor can inspect suppliers, formulas, equipment, records and slaughter operations. A religious decision-maker can determine the halal status where the scheme gives it that task. A regulator can issue the legal certificate, govern a logo or recognise a foreign body. One person or institution may contribute to several steps, but the evidence should not collapse them into one generic “halal approval.”
Indonesia separates the roles unusually clearly: BPJPH regulates and issues/revokes the certificate; LPH independently examines/tests; MUI, local MUI, MPU Aceh or in defined settings the Halal Product Fatwa Committee makes the determination. PP 42/2024 makes BPJPH the LPH accreditor and permits cooperation with the accreditation institution. It does not make KAN an unconditional direct issuer of every LPH accreditation or a halal certificate issuer.[3] [5]
Malaysia uses JAKIM and relevant MAIN/JAIN as competent authorities. Field inspectors gather evidence, but a Malaysia Halal Certification Panel with sharia and technical expertise makes approval, conditional approval, refusal, suspension and withdrawal decisions. Singapore’s MUIS is its statutory sole halal certificate issuer, and it separately recognises suitable foreign halal bodies. Brunei’s MUIB makes final certificate, permit and halal-meat import decisions while inspection and inter-agency bodies administer the evidence.[7] [23] [6]
CICOT sets policy and controls Thai halal marks, while Provincial Islamic Committees normally inspect, audit and certify local businesses; a committee or board, not a field auditor alone, controls the decision. Qatar’s import model requires a three-person certification decision including an Islamic-affairs expert. Kuwait’s guide similarly requires a three-person compliance decision with an Islamic-affairs expert. UAE public materials define an Islamic-affairs expert alongside technical competence and recognise MoIAT as the HCB registration authority; that does not translate into a degree mandate for every auditor, slaughterer or staff member.[9] [11] [12] [15] [45]
No universal academic-degree rule was found. Indonesia’s halal auditors have a listed relevant bachelor-degree requirement, whereas its slaughterers and halal supervisors have role-specific Muslim/adult/health/training/competence conditions. Malaysia’s Halal Executive has a diploma-or-experience route, while slaughterers need religious and technical competence with state authorisation. Türkiye’s technical roles have education-or-experience routes; its Islamic Affairs Experts must have stated Islamic post-secondary education or equivalent knowledge plus experience. Pakistan requires competent technical experts and sharia scholars, not a countrywide degree rule for every role.[3] [7] [16] [17]
| Question | Evidence-led comparison answer |
|---|---|
| Does a technical auditor automatically decide halal status? | No. Indonesia separates LPH examination from MUI/committee determination and BPJPH issuance; Malaysian panel and Gulf decision models likewise separate field evidence from the certification decision.[3] [7] [11] |
| Does every halal worker need a degree? | No. Degree, education, experience, training, Muslim status, technical skill and state authorisation attach differently to different roles and schemes.[3] [7] [16] |
| Does an accreditation body issue the product certificate? | Not ordinarily. GAC, EIAC, ENAS, HAK and KAN have competence-accreditation functions; a regulator or HCB has a distinct certification/recognition role.[1] [2] |
| Does an MOU decide an individual product? | No. It may support cooperation, but certificate scope, current recognition, product/facility link, registration and shipment conditions remain separate.[4] [10] |
How do standards, accreditation and recognition connect across borders?
The GCC Standardization Organization (GSO) and SMIIC publish standards and common technical vocabulary. Their existence does not show that every clause is binding in every country. SMIIC expressly contemplates national adoption and deviations. The publicly accessible GSO and OIC/SMIIC catalogues do not justify making up inaccessible alcohol numbers, current settings, machine rules or committee formulas. Countries such as the UAE, Bahrain and Oman have adopted named national versions in particular areas; Saudi, Qatar and Kuwait use related material in import contexts, but the legal adoption and accessible clause text differ.[1] [2]
GAC, EIAC, ENAS, HAK and KAN are accreditation structures with different remits. Accreditation should be read as a competence decision for the named legal entity, standard, site, category and validity. It is not a universal product declaration, border pass or religious opinion. In the UAE, MoIAT registration and relevant scope remain central even if an HCB has an accreditation route. In Türkiye, HAK expressly says it accredits bodies and does not issue halal certificates or fatwas.[1] [2] [15] [16]
A current destination directory is usually more valuable for shipment acceptance than a generic accreditation claim. JAKIM recognition is capability-based, time-limited and reviewed; imported Malaysian halal goods must use a recognised foreign body, with extra plant requirements for meat/poultry. MUIS recognises foreign bodies rather than certifying overseas food. Saudi Halal Center maintains a live directory that distinguishes mutual-recognition bodies and conformity bodies. Qatar asks users to check its MOPH authorised list and scope. In Indonesia, scope-specific reciprocal recognition must be followed by SIHALAL registration by the importer or representative before distribution.[4] [7] [23] [10] [11] [37]
Accreditation is attached to the exact legal entity and listed scope. A chemicals, additives or cosmetics scope is not a general food or slaughter approval, and an accredited certification body cannot transfer its status to a separate standards organisation. USDHS, for example, is a private U.S. nonprofit standards organisation rather than a U.S. government department; its HIPS framework must be read separately from the accreditation of any body applying it. The supporting scope record and U.S. guide explain those distinctions.[25] [20] [43]
For a fuller explanation of these institutional roles, see International halal standards, accreditation and recognition institutions. The site’s standards, training and accreditation pages are useful next steps for understanding a framework, competence development and scope verification; none is a substitute for the destination regulator’s live decision.
What should an applicant put in the evidence file?
A good file follows the product rather than relying on a logo. It begins with legal entity, applicant, product names, plant/facility, formula and intended markets. It then maps every ingredient and process aid: animal source, slaughter pathway where relevant, gelatin, enzymes, cultures, emulsifiers, flavours, carriers, cleaning agents, lubricants and packaging/contact materials. For alcohol questions, attach the supplier specification, origin and process description, intended use, product stage, amount/unit and the required scheme method rather than copying a percentage from a different country.
The process evidence should show receiving, storage, equipment, cleaning, production, rework, packaging, warehousing, transport and traceability. Where halal and non-halal work coexist, show the scheme-specific segregation and cleansing controls. A current certificate is not a permanent approval to change formula, supplier, processing aid, equipment or line configuration. Several systems explicitly require change control or continued surveillance; the correct response is to notify the body and determine whether review is needed.[3] [7] [15] [20]
For meat and poultry, add species, slaughter establishment, cutter qualification, invocation/machine procedure where applicable, cut and bleed process, stunning method and settings where permitted, monitoring, rejection/segregation records and destination plant/document approvals. “Reversible” or “alive at cut” should be a recordable outcome in this wider control system, not the only line in the specification.
For cross-border trade, keep three documents in separate folders: accreditation evidence for the HCB, destination recognition/designation evidence, and the certificate linking the product and facility to the shipment. Also check certificate validity, exact HCB legal name, product scope, manufacturer, slaughter plant where relevant, registration number, label wording, certifier-name marking and customs/health/veterinary documents. This avoids the common but costly conclusion that one positive document proves all three questions.
Frequently asked questions
Is there one worldwide halal standard?
No. GSO and SMIIC provide important standard families, but national adoption and deviations differ. Public regulators, private certifiers and destination-recognition systems also use different legal routes. A country guide or certificate must be read with the relevant market’s current rule.[1] [2]
Is a 0.5% alcohol figure acceptable everywhere?
No. Indonesia and Malaysia use 0.5% in defined, different contexts. Singapore’s public figures also have narrow qualifying conditions. The records do not establish a universal 0.5%, 0.1% or zero-tolerance halal rule or a universal test method.[21] [22] [23] [39]
Is reversible stunning automatically halal?
No. Reversibility or live-at-cut is only one condition. The destination or certifier can also control species, device, settings, cutter, invocation, cut, mechanical-line operation, monitoring, records and recognition. Saudi’s poultry restriction and Kuwait’s poultry prohibition show why “Gulf accepts reversible stunning” is inaccurate.[10] [12] [26]
Is halal certification compulsory for every product in Indonesia from 18 October 2026?
No. The phase is broad but category-specific. Products made from prohibited materials are excluded from halal certification and require non-halal information; later stages remain for other product types. BPJPH’s 18 October implementation description should not be recast as a universal all-product rule.[3] [5]
Does GAC accreditation mean the certificate will be accepted in Saudi Arabia, Malaysia or Indonesia?
No. GAC accreditation is competence evidence for its defined scope. Saudi designation, JAKIM recognition or BPJPH’s applicable recognition/registration route is a separate market-acceptance question.[1] [4] [10] [37]
Does a country’s dominant school of jurisprudence tell me which certificate to choose?
No. Use the actual regulator rule, certifier scheme and religious-decision process. Public religious tradition may provide context, but does not prove an individual’s qualifications or a single scheme outcome.[6] [7] [16]
Does every halal auditor, supervisor or slaughterer need a university degree?
No. Requirements are role-specific. Indonesia verifies a relevant bachelor degree for halal auditors, whereas slaughterer/supervisor rules focus on different qualifications. Malaysia and Türkiye show additional education-or-experience and competence pathways.[3] [7] [16]
Is USDHS the U.S. government, or does a certification body’s accreditation apply to it?
No. USDHS is a private nonprofit standards organisation. Accreditation attaches to the legal entity named on the certificate and its stated scope; it does not transfer to a separate standards organisation or to every halal activity.[25] [20] [43]
References
- SMIIC informative note on OIC global halal quality infrastructure
- GCC Accreditation Center accreditation of halal certification bodies
- Indonesia Government Regulation No. 42 of 2024 on Halal Product Assurance Administration
- BPJPH Decree No. 221 of 2025 on foreign halal certificate registration
- BPJPH notice on product types mandatory from 18 October 2026
- Brunei Halal Meat Rules, Chapter 183, Revised Edition 2014
- JAKIM Circular 1/2026 and amended Manual Procedure for Malaysia Halal Certification
- MUIS halal certification information
- Thai Agricultural Standard TAS 8400-2025: Halal Food
- Saudi Halal Center/SFDA Circular 10130
- Qatar MOPH Guideline for Importing Halal Food and Authorized Islamic Bodies
- Kuwait PAFN Conditions and Requirements Guide for Importing Halal Food, 2025
- Bahrain Cabinet Decision No. 61 of 2024 concerning halal products
- Oman OS GSO 993:2015 animal slaughtering standard catalogue record
- UAE Cabinet Resolution No. 104 of 2022 concerning UAE.S 993:2022
- HAK halal slaughter certification-scheme guideline
- Pakistan Standards and Quality Control Authority halal standards listing
- Japan Food Labeling Act
- Council Regulation (EC) No 1099/2009, Article 4: stunning methods
- USDHS Halal Standards for U.S. Operations
- JAKIM compilation of National Fatwa Committee Muzakarah decisions on alcohol
- MUI Fatwa No. 10 of 2018 on Food and Beverage Products Containing Alcohol/Ethanol
- MUIS halal standards and guidelines
- GSO 2538:2021 maximum limits for residues of ethyl alcohol in food catalogue record
- GAC scope certificate for Halal Watch World LLC, HPC 0134
- USDA FAS FAIRS Country Report Annual: Saudi Arabia, SA2025-0013
- UAE.S 993:2022 official English translation reproduced in USDA report
- U.S. TTB International Affairs Resources for Kuwait
- An Analytical Study of Pakistan Standard PS:3733-2022
- Welfare of Animals at the Time of Killing (England) Regulations 2015, Schedule 3
- Welfare of Animals at the Time of Killing (Wales) Regulations 2014, Schedule 3
- Welfare of Animals at the Time of Killing Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014, Schedule 3
- HMC: Issues of Mechanical Slaughter and Stunning
- Food labelling: giving food information to consumers
- American Halal Foundation — AHF Halal Standards
- ISWA Halal Certification Department
- JAKIM recognised foreign halal certification bodies and authorities, effective 21 August 2026
- WTO notification G/TBT/N/BRN/2: Halal Food PBD 24:2007 First Edition
- MUIS Fatwa: Ethanol
- MUIS Halal Certification Conditions: Poultry Scheme Version 4.2
- Al Shabiba report of FSQC halal-certificate designation announcement
- Federal Territories Mufti explanation of madhhab practice and exceptions in Malaysia
- USDHS — Contact and Institutional Identity
- 7 U.S.C. § 1902 — Humane Methods
- CICOT Regulation on the Management of Halal Affairs B.E. 2558
- BPJPH Decision No. 160 of 2026: SJPH Guideline for Ruminant and Poultry Slaughter
Halal certification rules by country
Compare certification, alcohol, slaughter, personnel and recognition requirements, then read the country guide and its official sources. This first edition covers 16 countries, not every jurisdiction.
Compare countries · Understand BPJPH, GAC, GSO, SMIIC and recognition