Halal Certification and Food Standards in Oman

Explore Oman’s halal standards and meat-import requirements, including certification scope, slaughter evidence and the reported July 2027 designation rule.

Water bottles on an automated conveyor in a modern beverage production facility
Illustrative photograph by Vladimir Srajber via Pexels. The image does not establish a facility’s halal status, its country or any authority’s endorsement. Photo source

The practical starting point for Oman

Oman’s halal framework matters most when an ordinary food becomes a regulated import, a halal-claimed product, or meat from an animal source. The practical starting point is not an assumption that every product needs a halal certificate. Identify the food category, whether it contains animal-origin material or makes a halal claim, whether it is imported, and which Omani food-registration and veterinary documents apply. Meat and meat products have the clearest published halal-document expectation. Imported foods more generally enter a registration, labelling, safety and border-control system administered through the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resources (MAFWR) and its Food Safety and Quality Center (FSQC). [2] [3] [12] [14]

Oman has adopted key Gulf standards as current Omani standards, including OS GSO 2055-1:2015 for halal food generally, OS GSO 993:2015 for animal slaughter, and OS GSO 2055-2:2021 for halal certification bodies. Adoption proves that these are Oman’s relevant national standards. It does not prove that every GSO or OIC/SMIIC document is automatically binding in Oman, nor that every food must be halal-certified. [4] [5] [8]

Authorities and the legal market-entry route

The Food Safety Law makes the food business operator responsible for food safety and prohibits food trade unless the food complies with applicable requirements and approved standards. It also prohibits import, export or transit of food that conflicts with the law or implementing instruments. Customs may not release a food consignment until it has the applicable health, agricultural or veterinary permit. Importers must retain their product documents for regulators. [3]

MAFWR is the key food and animal-health ministry, while FSQC runs the food-registration and related food-control function. DGSM, within the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion, is the national standardization body reflected in Oman’s standards catalogue. In practical terms, MAFWR/FSQC controls the food and border path; DGSM records Omani adoption of the relevant standards. A catalogue standard is not, by itself, a shipment-clearance decision. [4] [12]

Ministerial Decision 69/2024, in force from 1 January 2025, requires food handlers to register imported foods. It also covers local food and food whose label, ingredients or formula changes. Personal-use imports, non-consumption research samples, specified non-sale marketing or conformity samples, restaurant-prepared food and any further ministerially exempted food are excluded from this registration rule. These are registration exemptions, not blanket exemptions from food safety, import, claim or veterinary controls. [1] [2]

For registration, the food must meet relevant food-safety legislation and local/GCC technical regulations and standards; laboratory testing must conform to approved standards; and animal-origin food must come from establishments approved to export to Oman. The registration file asks for origin, manufacturer, product image, ingredients, shelf life and storage conditions. The government service also lists a label PDF, laboratory compliance report, invoice/packing list and, for imports, an origin-country health certificate. [2] [12]

Which products need halal evidence?

The evidence supports a category-based answer rather than a universal rule. The U.S. government’s Oman trade guide says MAFWR requires halal certificates for meat and meat products, in addition to the animal-health permit and health-certificate route. The current MAFWR veterinary-permit page lists halal and halal-slaughter certificates among documents that can be required depending on permit type, alongside veterinary-health, origin, slaughterhouse-approval and other documents. It does not say every document on that menu is required for every animal product. [13] [14]

The older USDA export-library entry is consistent for U.S. trade: it says halal certification is required for fresh/frozen unprocessed meat and poultry and for raw materials used in processed foods making halal claims. It is useful corroboration, but it is origin-specific and dated 2023; it should not be converted into a global rule for every country of origin or every processed food. [15]

The national halal-food standard defines a halal certificate broadly enough to cover slaughter, farms, facilities, slaughterhouses and animal-origin components such as meat/poultry derivatives, rennet, gelatin and animal fats and oils. That tells businesses which inputs deserve a documentary review. It does not turn gelatin, every enzyme, every dairy product, all flavours or every plant product into a nationally published, universal pre-shipment certificate category. For processed food with animal-origin material, obtain the current document requirement from the Omani importer or FSQC before shipment. [7]

Product or situationWhat is publicly establishedWhat should not be assumed
Imported food generallyRegistration is generally required before local sale, subject to stated exemptions; standards, lab testing and label approval are part of the system. [2]That a halal certificate is mandatory for every imported SKU.
Meat and meat productsMAFWR halal certificate requirement is reported by official U.S. trade guidance; health certificate and animal-import permit also apply. [14]That halal evidence replaces veterinary or food-registration evidence.
Poultry/fresh or frozen meatUSDA’s Oman entry requires halal documentation for specified U.S. exports. [15]That this older, U.S.-specific instruction defines all Oman product categories or all origins.
Processed food with animal material or a halal claimThe standards expressly identify components such as gelatin, rennet, animal fats/oils and derivatives as certification-relevant evidence. [7]That all processed foods with any animal-derived ingredient automatically need the same certificate.
Food advertising or promotionFood proposed for promotion may not contain alcohol, pork, pork fat or derivatives under Decision 69/2024 Article 11. [2]That this advertising condition is a general analytical ethanol limit, a product-registration rule, or a mandatory non-halal label.

The adopted Omani standards and their limits

OS GSO 2055-1:2015 is an identical Omani adoption of GSO 2055-1:2015 and remains listed as current. Its scope covers the halal food chain from receiving and preparation through packaging, labelling, handling, transport, distribution, storage, display and food service. It cross-refers to the slaughter standard, certification-body and accreditation-body standards, hygiene rules and the prepackaged-food label standard. [4] [7]

OS GSO 993:2015 is likewise listed by DGSM as the current Omani animal-slaughter standard. Its scope includes permissible animals and birds. The public GSO preview describes tazkeya as slaughter by a Muslim, Christian or Jew of a permitted animal, using a tool or machine for the sake of Allah. It defines throat cutting as cutting the oesophagus, two jugular veins and pharynx; it identifies nahr for the base-of-neck/chest method; and it treats pieces cut before slaughter as dead animal. [5] [6]

A careful reader should stop where public evidence stops. The catalogues sell the complete current editions. The publicly accessible current preview of GSO 993 exposes definitions and its contents page, but not the operative pages headed Sharea tazkeya requirements, supervision/monitoring/stamping and labelling. The GSO 2055-1 preview similarly does not expose its detailed sections 4–8. The English versions say that Arabic controls if there is conflict. This guide therefore does not reproduce or invent detailed current operational clauses that are not publicly visible. [6] [7]

Slaughter method, cuts, blood drainage and animal condition

For a halal meat claim, the central documentation question is whether the animal was slaughtered under the adopted Omani/GSO animal-slaughter standard and whether the issuing body can evidence that assessment. The published definition uses tazkeya and calls for slaughter for the sake of Allah; it recognizes throat cutting and nahr. The 2015 general-food standard describes tazkeya as halal slaughtering to drain blood and directs readers to GSO 993 for its requirements. [6] [7]

Do not reduce this to a slogan such as three cuts, four vessels, or blood must be fully drained without the authoritative current Arabic clause and the product-specific scheme. The publicly accessible current preview supports the definition of the throat structures above. It does not expose the full current control wording for sequence, blood-flow verification, post-cut handling, stamping or inspection. A processor should retain the slaughter procedure, competent supervision record, lot linkage, certificate and slaughterhouse-approval evidence rather than rely on a generic logo. [2] [6]

Being alive at the cut also needs careful treatment. The current public preview says that an uncontrolled animal captured alive should be slaughtered or have its throat cut, and it treats pre-slaughter body pieces as dead animal. That is not a publicly available Omani voltage table, species table or recovery protocol. Being alive at the cut, the reversibility of a stun, the electrical settings used, and whether a particular species/method is allowed are distinct questions. [6]

Stunning and mechanical slaughter

Stunning: Oman’s current adopted slaughter standard is OS GSO 993:2015. Its publicly available preview does not disclose the operative stunning section. This guide therefore cannot responsibly give Omani limits for voltage, current, duration, water-bath parameters, gas systems, captive bolt, species or recovery. Nor can it treat an older GSO 993/1998 text, a UAE revision, an OIC/SMIIC rule or a private-certifier rule as the current Omani clause. [5] [6]

A certificate or audit file should identify the animal species, whether a stun occurred, its method and settings, evidence that the animal was alive at the religious cut, the applicable approved procedure, and the certifier’s acceptance basis. Recoverable stun is a welfare/process proposition, while compliance turns on the actual adopted standard, the animal’s condition, the cut and the certificate issuer’s decision. The complete current Arabic OS GSO 993 text and FSQC/importer confirmation are needed before treating any stunning configuration as Oman-accepted. [5] [6] [11]

Mechanical slaughter: the published definition of tazkeya expressly refers to a tool or machine, so machinery is not absent from the standard’s vocabulary. Yet the operative requirements for mechanical slaughter are not present in the accessible preview. There is no public basis here to say that mechanical slaughter is categorically permitted, categorically prohibited, or permitted subject to a particular invocation, operator, cut verification or line-speed condition in Oman. Do not import a rule from another GCC state. [6]

The slaughterer, invocation and religious supervision

The current GSO preview’s definition permits a Muslim, Christian or Jew as the slaughterer and links the act to the sake of Allah. That is the relevant standard text publicly accessible for Oman—not an inference from Omani nationality, population or a named school of law. It also makes clear why a halal certificate can concern the slaughterhouse and its supervision rather than merely the personal identity of someone on a line. [6]

The International Islamic Fiqh Academy’s 2018 resolution is useful cross-border religious context, not proof of a binding Omani import rule. It says a state may require a Muslim slaughterer for regulatory reassurance and says a Muslim woman is not excluded by sharia. Oman’s published current preview, however, does not publicly show a separate Oman-only requirement that every slaughterer be Muslim. When a buyer or certificate scheme asks for a Muslim slaughterer or a particular invocation record, obtain the actual Oman-accepted scheme or FSQC direction in writing. [6] [17]

Alcohol and residual ethanol

The clearest current Omani legal alcohol wording found in this review sits in Decision 69/2024’s advertising and promotion conditions: a food proposed for advertising or promotion must not contain alcohol, pork, pork fat or their derivatives. That provision cannot be read as a general halal laboratory specification. It does not state a residual-ethanol percentage, unit, analytical method, product-category threshold or rule for an imported food’s registration. [2]

No authoritative public Omani source located here states a general residual ethanol limit for finished food, an ethanol test method, or different numbers for an ingredient, processing aid or finished product. There is therefore no percentage, ppm, mg/kg or ABV value in this guide. It would be unsafe to borrow a single threshold from another country, a cosmetic rule, a beverage rule or an individual certifier and call it Oman’s universal food limit.

An intentionally added intoxicating alcoholic drink used in a recipe is not the same factual case as non-khamr ethanol used as a solvent or processing aid, and neither is the same as ethanol created by natural fermentation. The OIC International Islamic Fiqh Academy separately addresses these cases: it distinguishes wine from ethanol; discusses ethanol as a solvent/processor and traces from natural fermentation; and says alcohol in cooking is not permitted. It provides no Oman-specific analytical limit. Treat it as fiqh context only; the importer, FSQC and designated certifier must determine the applicable Omani evidence for the actual formulation. [17]

For a practical file, name the ethanol source and function, state whether it is intentionally added or naturally formed, distinguish ingredient concentration from finished-product concentration, retain supplier specifications and process-flow information, and ask what evidence is required. Do not label an ordinary flavour carrier or fermented trace approved for Oman merely because an overseas fatwa makes a general distinction. [2] [17]

Ingredients, processing aids, gelatin, enzymes and cross-contact

The Omani halal-food standard’s certificate definition expressly calls out meat/poultry derivatives, rennet, gelatin and animal fats/oils and their derivatives. The certification-body standard repeats the relevance of components, additives and ingredients used in meat derivatives and extracts, rennet, gelatin, fats and animal oils. That is a clear reason to trace species, animal status, slaughter origin where relevant, supplier and lot for these inputs. [7] [9]

Enzymes, cultures, flavour carriers and processing aids need the same disciplined question: what is the source, what is its manufacturing medium/carrier, whether it remains in the finished food, and what evidence supports halal status? The food-labelling standard defines a processing aid as a material intentionally used for a technological purpose that may leave unavoidable residue or derivatives in the finished food. That definition explains why it belongs in a halal review even where it is not an ordinary declared food ingredient. It does not, by itself, decide halal status. [16]

OS GSO 2055-1’s adopted scope includes the whole food chain, including handling, storage and transportation. That makes segregation, dedicated or effectively controlled equipment, cleaning validation where shared equipment exists, and traceable logistics sensible halal-control topics. However, the detailed operational clauses on cleaning and segregation are not exposed in the public current preview, so this guide does not claim a specific Oman line-clearance validation method or sanitiser formula. [4] [7]

As religious context, the International Islamic Fiqh Academy says halal and non-halal manufacturing facilities should be separated, and if separation is impossible, cleansing with water and other cleaning products is needed until purity is reached. It also treats porcine gelatin as impermissible and discusses rennet origin. That is not a substitute for the current paid Omani standard or for a certifier’s audit program. It is a useful reason to document shared-line risk and cleaning controls rather than assume physical proximity is harmless. [17]

Certification bodies, auditors, experts and decision authority

Oman identically adopted OS GSO 2055-2:2021, the standard for halal certification bodies and their certificate-issuance procedures, plus a current 2024 amendment. The accessible preview defines a halal certificate as evidence of product, service or system conformity; defines a technical expert as someone providing specific knowledge to the audit team; and says an audit team has one or more auditors with technical-expert support as needed. It also refers to certificate suspension decided by the certification body. [8] [9] [10]

The standard’s definition of a halal Islamic-affairs expert is more precise than a blanket degree-required claim. It describes a Muslim with profound, comprehensive halal-sharia knowledge, and says efficiency and scientific knowledge are established through academic certificates, courses, research and training in the field. That supports a competence-based evidence trail. It does not establish that every slaughterer, auditor, technical expert or certificate decision maker must hold a particular university degree. [9]

Nor did this review find a public Oman rule that names a standing national religious committee, specifies its members’ religion, gives it a published veto or voting rule, or says it makes every domestic certificate decision. The public preview ends before detailed resource and process clauses; do not fill the gap with a demographic assumption or a private-certifier organisation chart. A credible certificate package should nevertheless make the certifier’s accreditation/designation, audit-team competence, religious-expertise input where used, scope, decision maker, certificate validity, product/site scope and complaint/suspension arrangements visible. [8] [9]

Foreign certificate recognition and the July 2027 change

On 24 September 2026, the FSQC announced that, from 1 July 2027, it will not accept halal certificates accompanying food imports when issued by a body that has not completed FSQC designation procedures. Importers of products for which a halal certificate is required have been told to coordinate in advance with the supplier and certification body and to verify designation before contracting; the Center says importers bear the consequences of choosing a non-designated issuer. The reported contact is designations@mafwr.gov.om. [11]

This is a recognition rule for the issuer, not a declaration that all food now needs halal certification. It also means a certificate accepted in another GCC market should not be presumed acceptable in Oman after the date. The available report is of an FSQC announcement rather than the underlying notice file, and this review did not locate a current official public list of designated bodies. Importers should obtain current written confirmation from FSQC or their Omani importer for the product category and issuer, especially before paying for a multi-year certificate. [11]

Labels, halal claims and non-halal products

Oman’s current food-registration regulation requires Arabic food-label information; English or another language may accompany it. A label file must be approved against relevant Omani or Gulf standards, and the authority requires supporting evidence where the food carries a nutrition/health claim or a mark, wording, logo or symbol. The supporting laboratory report for label approval may not be more than 12 months old. Once approved, the label approval lasts five years unless the food’s data or ingredients change, or the applicable standard is updated. [2]

The current Omani label standard is OS GSO 9:2022. Its public GSO preview covers prepackaged foods for consumers or catering, defines an ingredient to include additives that remain in the final product, and defines processing aids separately. Its detailed mandatory-data pages should be checked in the current Arabic edition for the exact product. [16]

No authoritative public source reviewed here establishes a universal Oman non-halal label requirement for all foods, nor a universal right for any product to display a halal logo. A product carrying a halal logo or claim should have evidence that matches the product, site, ingredients and issuer. A product containing alcohol or pork is specifically barred from the Decision 69/2024 advertising/promotion pathway; that should not be misreported as a rule that every product must carry a non-halal label. [2]

Ibadi tradition and the limits of school-based assumptions

Ibadi scholarship and identity are important in Oman’s history. Academic work characterises the modern legal setting as balancing an Ibadi identity with a broader all-Islamic or non-madhhab legal posture. That context can help readers understand why school-of-law questions arise. [18]

It cannot identify the religion of an individual slaughterer, auditor, official or consumer. It also cannot replace OS GSO 2055-1, OS GSO 993, OS GSO 2055-2, the Food Safety Law or an FSQC document. For this guide, the published standard and regulatory document are the rule source; the Ibadi context is not used to create a certification requirement. [4] [5] [8] [18]

Practical comparison: verified rule versus confirmation needed

The table distinguishes what is directly supported by published Oman or GSO material from the points that need product-specific confirmation. Its purpose is to prevent a general claim about GCC, ethanol, religious tradition or another country’s halal scheme being substituted for Oman’s actual current requirement.

TopicVerified position in Oman as at 15 October 2026Critical limit or next confirmation
Food/import authorityMAFWR/FSQC runs food registration and food control; Customs release depends on the relevant health/agricultural/veterinary permit. [2] [3]Check the product’s actual permit route and border documents.
National halal baselineOman currently adopts OS GSO 2055-1:2015 and OS GSO 993:2015. [4] [5]Adoption is not a universal certificate obligation.
Meat documentationHalal certificates are required for meat and meat products in official U.S. trade guidance; animal-health documents also apply. [14]Confirm category, origin and current FSQC conditions.
StunningCurrent slaughter standard is adopted. [5]Public current text does not prove method/species/voltage/recovery rules; obtain current Arabic clause and acceptance.
Mechanical slaughterCurrent definition mentions tool or machine. [6]Public current text does not disclose conditions or a categorical outcome.
Slaughterer/invocationCurrent preview defines tazkeya by Muslim, Christian or Jew using tool/machine for Allah. [6]No public Oman-only Muslim-only rule or invocation-record format found.
EthanolAdvertising restriction addresses food containing alcohol; no public universal ethanol analytical limit found. [2]Identify source/function and finished-product facts; seek FSQC/certifier determination.
PersonnelIslamic-affairs expert competence may be evidenced by academic certificates, courses, research and training. [9]No blanket university-degree, committee-membership or national decision rule found.
Foreign certifier recognitionFSQC designation becomes a condition for acceptance of required halal certificates on 1 July 2027. [11]Verify issuer designation for the actual import; do not rely on another-market acceptance.
Non-halal labelsNo public universal non-halal label mandate located. [2] [16]Check product-specific label, claim and advertising restrictions.

Frequently asked questions

Does every food imported into Oman need a halal certificate?

No universal rule was found. Imported food generally needs registration unless exempt, while meat and meat products have the clearest published halal-certificate expectation. Processed food with animal-origin inputs or a halal claim needs an ingredient and document review, not an assumption that every product falls in one category. [2] [14]

Is there an Oman residual ethanol limit such as 0.1%?

No authoritative public Oman rule located for this guide gives a general residual-ethanol number, unit or test method for food. Do not apply another country’s, a cosmetic rule’s or a certifier’s number as an Oman-wide finished-food limit. Identify whether ethanol is an alcoholic-drink ingredient, a solvent or processing aid, or natural-fermentation residue, then obtain a product-specific determination. [2] [17]

Does Oman allow stunning?

Oman has adopted OS GSO 993:2015, but the public current preview does not expose its operative stunning conditions. It is therefore not responsible to state that a particular stunning method, voltage, species or recovery protocol is accepted. Being alive at the cut is not a substitute for method-specific evidence. [5] [6]

Does Oman permit mechanical poultry slaughter?

The accessible current definition refers to a tool or machine, but the operative mechanical-slaughter clause is not public in the current preview. That does not prove unconditional permission or a ban. Obtain the current Arabic standard and FSQC, importer or designated-certifier confirmation before certifying or exporting mechanically slaughtered product. [5] [6] [11]

Must a halal auditor or slaughterer have a university degree?

No blanket degree requirement was found. The adopted certification-body standard says a halal Islamic-affairs expert’s competence may be established through academic certificates, courses, research and training. This is different from requiring a specified academic degree for every role. [9]

What changes on 1 July 2027?

For food imports for which a halal certificate is required, FSQC has announced it will not accept certificates issued by bodies that have not completed its designation procedures. The date does not create a public, universal halal-certificate mandate for every food; it changes acceptance of certificates where one is required. [11]

References

  1. Oman Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs register: Ministerial Decision 69/2024
  2. Ministerial Decision 69/2024: food registration, advertising and promotion regulation
  3. Royal Decree 84/2008 issuing Oman’s Food Safety Law
  4. DGSM: OS GSO 2055-1:2015 Halal Products, Part 1
  5. DGSM: OS GSO 993:2015 Animal Slaughtering Requirements
  6. GSO 993:2015 public preview
  7. OS GSO 2055-1:2015 public preview
  8. DGSM: OS GSO 2055-2:2021 Halal Certification Bodies
  9. GSO 2055-2:2021 public preview
  10. DGSM: OS GSO 2055-2:2021 Amendment 1:2024
  11. Al Shabiba report of FSQC halal-certificate designation announcement
  12. Oman government service: Food Product Registration Certificate
  13. Oman government service: Veterinary Import Permit
  14. U.S. International Trade Administration: Oman Import Requirements and Documentation
  15. USDA FSIS: Oman export library
  16. GSO 9:2022 public preview: Labeling of prepackaged food stuffs
  17. International Islamic Fiqh Academy Resolution 225 (9/23) on SMIIC halal questions
  18. K.S. Vikør: Ibadism and law in historical contexts

Halal certification rules by country

Compare certification, alcohol, slaughter, personnel and recognition requirements, then read the country guide and its official sources. This first edition covers 16 countries, not every jurisdiction.

Compare countries · Understand BPJPH, GAC, GSO, SMIIC and recognition

Related halal standards guidance

Browse all USDHS Guidance